Wednesday, December 14, 2005

House passes White House & GOP Patriot Act bill that undermines civil liberties and privacy, Senate still can stop it.

The House of Representatives passed the Patriot Act compromise bill today 251 Yays (for) and 174 Nays (against); see the roll call. Now all hope turns to the Senate where there is bi-partisan opposition to it.

Russ Feingold has posted the Dear Colleague letter (download) on his website. Over at the TPM Cafe he's said the signers have pledged to vote against cloture (they'll support a filibuster). Those Patriots are: Larry Craig (R-ID), Dick Durbin (D-IL), John Sununu (R-NH), Russ Feingold (D-WI), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Ken Salazar (D-CO), Chuck Hagel (R-NE), John Kerry (D-MA), and Barack Obama (D-IL). Hoorah for Illinois!

Contact your Senators and tell them you want them to support the Filibuster. If you're in Illinois let our Senators know you're behind them. As Senator Feingold said yesterday,

The President could sign Patriot Act reauthorization legislation into law tomorrow if the House would just take up and pass the compromise Senate bill that was approved unanimously in the Senate earlier this year – a bill that includes important and reasonable privacy protections. The American people have been calling for a new look at the Patriot Act for four long years. It's time to get the job done right. I want to thank the groups that are here today for all their work, and pledge to them, and to the public, that I will keep fighting in the Senate.

Senator Feingold gave a speech on the Senate floor today. You can get the text from his website. It's worth reading. I'll post more on it when I get time.

Meanwhile, for everyone in Illinois here's the roll of our Representatives to Congress. Call or Email your Representative and let them know what you think of their vote.

Real Patriots - Voted against the White House & GOP compromise bill

Rep. Bobby Rush Democrat (District 01)
phone 202-225-4372

Rep. Jesse Jackson, Jr. Democrat (District 02)
phone 202-225-0773

Rep. Luis Gutierrez Democrat (District 04)
phone 202-225-8203

Rep. Danny Davis Democrat (District 07)
phone 202-225-5006

Rep. Janice Schakowsky Democrat (District 09)
phone 202-225-2111

Rep. Jerry Costello Democrat (District 12)
phone 202-225-5661 <

Rep. Timothy V. Johnson Republican (District 15)
phone 202-225-2371

Rep. Donald Manzullo Republican (District 16)
phone 202-225-5676

Rep. Lane Evans Democrat (District 17)
phone 202-225-5905

Dangers to our Liberty - Voted for the White House & GOP compromise bill

Rep. Dan Lipinski Democrat (District 03)
phone 202-225-5701

Rep. Rahm Emanuel Democrat (District 05)
phone 202-225-4061

Rep. Melissa Bean Democrat (District 08)
phone 202-225-3711

Rep. Mark S. Kirk Republican (District 10)
phone 202-225-4835

Rep. Gerald C. Weller Republican (District 11)
phone 202-225-3635

Rep. Judy Biggert Republican (District 13)
phone 202-225-3515

Rep. J. Dennis Hastert Republican (District 14)
phone 202-225-2976

Rep. Ray LaHood Republican (District 18)
phone 202-225-6201

Rep. John Shimkus Republican (District 19)
phone 202-225-5271

Didn't vote - but it's just as well with his voting record

Rep. Henry J. Hyde Republican (District 06)
phone 202-225-4561

My previous posts on this issue can be found here, here, and here.

Categories: , , , , , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home